Stop/delete Fast ForWord assignments

On this page:

About stopping/deleting assignments

When you assign a Fast ForWord product to a student, you can go back at any time and remove that assignment—for either an individual student or multiple students within a group, by either stopping or deleting that assignment. Choose from the following two removal options:

  • Stop. Remove student access to the Fast ForWord product but leave the student's product data intact.
  • Delete. Remove student access to the Fast ForWord product and permanently delete the student's product data from the system.

Tip: To stop all product assignments for a group of students, see Stop all product assignments.

Stop a Fast ForWord assignment

Perform this task when a student has finished working on a Fast ForWord product and you still want to keep a record of that student’s work; for example, if that student plans to continue working on another Scientific Learning product. When you stop a Fast ForWord product assignment, the software removes the product from the Exercises screen and shows Resume next to the product name in the Assign screen. The product data will remain intact, and the results will continue to appear in the reports. If you click Resume, the student will resume the product from where he or she left off.

You can stop an individual assignment from a student’s profile. To stop all assignments for a group of students, see Stop all product assignments.

Note: You cannot stop an assignment for a student who is actively training, or who is using Auto Assign. To learn more see Fast ForWord Auto Assign.

  1. In mySciLEARN Manage section, click the Students tab to access the Students page.
  2. Locate the student in the students list. See The students list.
  3. Click the student’s name to open that student’s profile.
  4. If you are using Auto Assign, make sure it’s turned off. See Set Auto Assign for your students.

  5. In the Assignments section, click the Stop icon next to the product you’d like to stop.
  6. The assignment is immediately stopped and student access is removed.

    • The student data remains intact in mySciLEARN.
    • The product is removed from the Student Exercises screen.
    • Resume appears next to the product name on the Student Profile screen. Clicking Resume will resume the product, and the student will start where he or she left off.

Delete a Fast ForWord assignment

Perform this task when the student will no longer work on the assigned Fast ForWord product and you do not want to keep any record of the student’s work on the product. You can also perform this task if you assigned the product by mistake. When you delete a Fast ForWord product assignment, the student’s product access is removed from the Student Exercises page. Additionally, the student’s data for that product is permanently deleted from the mySciLEARN. If you assign the product again, the student will start at the beginning of the product.

You can use the delete assignment feature as follows:

  • Delete an individual student's assignment from that student’s profile.
  • Delete assignments for a group of students from the students list.

Warning! Deleting a Fast ForWord product assignment permanently removes all the student's product data files from mySciLEARN. The product can be assigned to the student again; however, the student's original results will be lost, and the student will start from the beginning of the product.

You cannot delete an assignment for a student who is actively training, or who is using Auto Assign. To learn more see Fast ForWord Auto Assign.

  1. In mySciLEARN Manage section, click the Students tab to access the Students page.
  2. Perform one of the following tasks to delete the assignment. If you are using Auto Assign, make sure it’s turned off before you start. See Set Auto Assign for your students.
  3. For an individual student using the student’s profile:

    1. Locate the students in the students list. You can filter the student list by using the Browse by School, Filter by My Groups, or Filter by Staff options on the left, or you can search for a student using the Search feature at the top of the screen.
    2. Click the student’s name to open the profile.
    3. In the Assignments section, click the trash icon next to the Fast ForWord product assignment.

    For one or more students using the students list:

    1. Select your school from the Browse by School list, if needed.
    2. Select your group from the Filter by Group list.
    3. Select the checkbox next to one or more students, or select the checkbox at the top of the students list to select all of the students on the screen.
    4. Select Delete Assignment from the Manage Assignments menu.
    5. Select the Fast ForWord product assignment from the product menu (or, to delete all product assignments, choose All Products from the menu), then click Delete.
  4. On the delete assignment confirmation message, click Confirm Delete.
  5. If the student has worked on the product, the product is removed from the Assignments section and that student’s data files for that product are permanently deleted from the system. Otherwise, the assignment is simply erased as if it never existed. You can assign the deleted Fast ForWord product again; however, the student will start from the beginning of the exercises.